Awards Season with Attitude, sponsored by

The 2017 Grammy nominations have been released today (December 6) with Beyoncé clocking up a spectacular nine nods, including the most coveted awards, Record of the Year for Formation, Album of the Year for Lemonade, and Song of the Year for Formation. 

The 35-year-old’s nine nominations bring her total to 60 – maintaining her record as the most nominated woman in Grammy history – while this year she becomes the first artist ever to earn nominations in the pop, rock, R&B and rap categories in the same year.

The icon’s genre-busting sixth album Lemonade has seen her reach out into some more surprising categories this year, including Best Rock Performance for Don’t Hurt Yourself ft. Jack White.

Following Beyoncé are Drake, Rihanna and Kanye West with eight nominations apiece, Chance the Rapper with seven, and Adele with five, including Record of the Year for Hello and Album of the Year for 25. The pair share a history of Grammy success, both hold the record for most Grammys won by a woman in one night – six.

Rihanna fans were shocked to see the singer miss out on an Album of the Year nod for Anti – however, she’s in the running for Record of the Year for Work ft. Drake, and has a number of nominations in R’n’B specific fields.

Another controversial ommission from the Album of the Year nominations list is David Bowie’s final album Blackstar, which was tipped for a posthumous nomination after he died from cancer in January 2016.

See the main nominations for next year’s Grammy Awards, which air on 12 February, below:


Record of the Year:
Hello — Adele
Formation — Beyoncé
7 Years — Lukas Graham
Work — Rihanna featuring Drake
Stressed Out — Twenty One Pilots

Album Of The Year:
25 — Adele
Lemonade — Beyoncé
Purpose — Justin Bieber
Views — Drake
A Sailor’s Guide To Earth — Sturgill Simpson

Song Of The Year:
Formation — Khalif Brown, Asheton Hogan, Beyoncé Knowles & Michael L. Williams II, songwriters (Beyoncé)
Hello — Adele Adkins & Greg Kurstin, songwriters (Adele)
I Took A Pill In Ibiza — Mike Posner, songwriter (Mike Posner)
Love Yourself — Justin Bieber, Benjamin Levin & Ed Sheeran, songwriters (Justin Bieber)
7 Years — Lukas Forchhammer, Stefan Forrest, Morten Pilegaard & Morten Ristorp, songwriters (Lukas Graham)

Best New Artist:
Kelsea Ballerini
The Chainsmokers
Chance The Rapper
Maren Morris
Anderson .Paak


Best Pop Solo Performance:
Hello — Adele
Hold Up — Beyoncé
Love Yourself — Justin Bieber
Piece By Piece (Idol Version) — Kelly Clarkson
Dangerous Woman — Ariana Grande

Best Pop Duo/Group Performance:
Closer —  The Chainsmokers featuring Halsey
7 Years — Lukas Graham
Work — Rihanna featuring Drake
Cheap Thrills — Sia featuring Sean Paul
Stressed Out — Twenty One Pilots

Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album:
Cinema — Andrea Bocelli
Fallen Angels — Bob Dylan
Stages Live — Josh Groban
Summertime: Willie Nelson Sings Gershwin — Willie Nelson
Encore: Movie Partners Sing Broadway

Best Pop Vocal Album:
25 — Adele
Purpose  — Justin Bieber
Dangerous Woman  — Ariana Grande
Confident — Demi Lovato
This Is Acting — Sia


Best Dance Recording:
Tearing Me Up — Bob Moses
Don’t Let Me Down — The Chainsmokers featuring Daya
Never Be Like You — Flume featuring Kai
Rinse & Repeat — Riton featuring Kah-Lo
Drinkee — Sofi Tukker

Best Dance/Electronic Album:
Skin — Flume
Electronica 1: The Time Machine — Jean-Michel Jarre
Epoch — Tycho
Barbara Barbara, We Face A Shining Future — Underworld
Louie Vega Starring…XXVIII — Louie Vega


Best Contemporary Instrumental Album:
Human Nature — Herb Alpert
When You Wish Upon a Star — Bill Frisell
Way Back Home Live From Rochester, NY — Steve Gadd Band
Unspoken — Chuck Loeb
Culcha Vulcha — Snarky Puppy


Best Rock Performance:
Joe (Live From Austin City Limits) — Alabama Shakes
Don’t Hurt Yourself — Beyoncé featuring Jack White
Blackstar — David Bowie
The Sound Of Silence (Live On Conan) — Disturbed
Heathens —  Twenty One Pilots

Best Metal Performance:
Shock Me —  Baroness
Silvera — Gojira
Rotting in Vain — Korn
Dystopia — Megadeth
The Price is Wrong — Periphery

Best Rock Song:
Blackstar — David Bowie, songwriter (David Bowie)
Burn The Witch — Radiohead, songwriters (Radiohead)
Hardwired — James Hetfield & Lars Ulrich, songwriters (Metallica)
Heathens — Tyler Joseph, songwriter (Twenty One Pilots)
My Name is Human — Rich Meyer, Ryan Meyer & Johnny Stevens, songwriters (Highly Suspect)

Best Rock Album:
California —  blink-182
Tell Me I’m Pretty — Cage The Elephant
Magma —  Gojira
Death of a Bachelor — Panic! At The Disco
Weezer — Weezer


Best Alternative Music Album:
22, A Million — Bon Iver
Blackstar — David Bowie
The Hope Six Demolition Project — PJ Harvey
Post Pop Depression — Iggy Pop
A Moon Shaped Pool — Radiohead


Best R&B Performance:
Turnin’ Me Up — BJ The Chicago Kid
Permission — Ro James
I Do — Musiq Soulchild
Needed Me — Rihanna
Cranes in the Sky — Solange

Best Traditional R&B Performance:
The Three Of Me — William Bell
Woman’s World — BJ The Chicago Kid
Sleeping with the One I Love — Fantasia
Angel — Lalah Hathaway
Can’t Wait — Jill Scott

Best R&B Song:
Come and See Me — J. Brathwaite, Aubrey Graham & Noah Shebib, songwriters (PartyNextDoor featuring Drake)
Exchange — Michael Hernandez & Bryson Tiller, songwriters (Bryson Tiller)
Kiss it Better — Jeff Bhasker, Robyn Fenty, John-Nathan Glass & Natalia Noemi, songwriters (Rihanna)
Lake by the Ocean — Hod David & Musze, songwriters (Maxwell)
Luv — Magnus August Høiberg, Benjamin Levin & Daystar Peterson, songwriters (Tory Lanez)

Best Urban Contemporary Album:
Lemonade — Beyoncé
Ology — Gallant
We Are King — KING
Malibu — Anderson .Paak
Anti — Rihanna

Best R&B Album:
In My Mind — BJ The Chicago Kid
Lalah Hathaway Live — Lalah Hathaway
Velvet Portraits — Terrace Martin
Healing Season — Mint Condition
Smoove Jones — Mya


Best Rap/Sung Performance:
Freedom — Beyoncé featuring Kendrick Lamar
Hotline Bling — Drake
Broccoli — D.R.A.M. featuring Lil Yachty
Ultralight Beam — Kanye West featuring Chance The Rapper, Kelly Price, Kirk Franklin & The-Dream
Famous — Kanye West featuring Rihanna

Best Rap Song:
All The Way Up — Joseph Cartagena, Edward Davadi, Shandel Green, Karim Kharbouch, Andre Christopher Lyon, Reminisce Mackie &  Marcello Valenzano, songwriters (Fat Joe & Remy Ma featuring French Montana & Infared)
Famous — Chancelor Bennett, Ross Birchard, Ernest Brown, Andrew Dawson, Kasseem Dean, Mike Dean, Noah Goldstein, Kejuan Muchita, Patrick Reynolds, Kanye West & Cydel Young, songwriters (Kanye West featuring Rihanna)
Hotline Bling — Aubrey Graham & Paul Jefferies, songwriters (Drake)
No Problem — Chancelor Bennett, Dwayne Carter & Tauheed Epps, songwriters (Chance The Rapper Featuring Lil Wayne & 2 Chainz)
Ultralight Beam — Chancelor Bennett, Kasseem Dean, Mike Dean, Kirk Franklin, Noah Goldstein, Samuel Griesemer, Terius Nash, Jerome Potter, Kelly Price, Nico Donnie Trumpet Segal, Derek Watkins, Kanye West & Cydel Young, songwriters (Kanye West Featuring Chance The Rapper, Kelly Price, Kirk Franklin & The-Dream)

Best Rap Album:
Coloring Book — Chance The Rapper
And The Anonymous Nobody — De La Soul
Major Key — DJ Khaled
Views — Drake
Blank Face LP — ScHoolboy Q
The Life of Pablo — Kanye West

The Grammy Awards will be broadcast live on CBS on Sunday, Feb. 12, at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT.

The show will be broadcast in the UK a day later on Monday 13 February on 4Music at 8pm, but if you’re planning on staying up late, we’ll be live-blogging the action as it happens here on and on Facebook and Twitter.


Awards Season with Attitude, sponsored by

More stories:
Gay porn star Max Schutler dies aged 35
Attitude readers get naked to celebrate the body beautiful