community

Attitude Awards 2020: Taylor Swift, Luke Evans, Dua Lipa and Stephen Fry confirmed in first trailer

The biggest LGBTQ night of the year premieres on 1 December on YouTube with performances from Yungblud, The Vamps and Paloma Faith.

2020-11-21

The 2020 Virgin Atlantic Attitude Awards, powered by Jaguar, are always the biggest night of the year for the LGBTQ community – and even in the midst of a global pandemic that defiantly remains the case, as a two-hour broadcast spectacular lands on YouTube at 9pm (GMT) on Tuesday 1 December, World AIDS Day.

The release of the official trailer sees host Tom Allen reveal that Taylor Swift, Dua Lipa, Stephen Fry and Luke Evans all feature, alongside Russell Tovey, Ru Paul and Todrick Hall.

There’s mention, too, of Michelle Visage, NikkieTutorials, Rosie Jones and Munroe Bergdorf, as well as Mark Ronson, MNEK and Simon Callow.

Which of those are among the 14 winners, or are presenting or simply passing through, remains to be unveiled on the evening in question, but the move from physical to virtual has not diminished this unique celebration of the great, the gay and the good, now in its ninth year.

It’s a star-studded line-up given further sparkle by the confirmation of no less than five exclusive live performances recorded just for Attitude magazine at the traditional home of the Attitude Awards, London’s Camden Roundhouse.

This revered, historic venue rings to the force of nature that is Yungblud, chart-toppers the Vamps, the fabulous Paloma Faith, breakthrough artist Rina Sawayama and Drag Race UK winner The Vivienne.

Your host with the most is comedian Tom Allen, and the entire proceedings are to benefit the Attitude Magazine Foundation, Attitude’s registered charity that has raised and distributed more than £250,000 to LGBTQ causes since summer 2018.

Celebrity Masterchef winner Riyadh Khalaf and Judge Robert Rinder are on hand to show off some of the extraordinary community projects supported so far.

You have been warned in good time! So be settled on your sofa come 9pm in the UK (1pm PST, 4pm EST, 10pm CET) on Tuesday 1st December for the premiere of an evening’s entertainment to remember on YouTube.

Like fireworks on a dark evening, let us introduce you to – and salute – role models old and new that will light the way through some challenging times.

The 2020 Virgin Atlantic Attitude Awards, powered by Jaguar premiere at 9pm GMT on Tuesday 1 December on YouTube (1pm PST, 4pm EST, 10pm CET).