Cher's ABBA cover album has a release date

The album titled 'Dancing Queen' is slated to be released on September 28


The release date of Cher's ABBA cover album has been revealed.

The new album - aptly called 'Dancing Queen' - is slated to be released on September 28 and those who pre-order the album will receive a rendition of Cher's cover of 'Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)’.

Cher joined the cast of Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again – the highly anticipated sequel to the hit 2008 musical movie – and during the film she performs the ABBA classic ‘Fernando’ as well as joining in the full-cast rendition of ‘Super Trouper’.

And after being inspired by the Swedish group’s music, the Oscar and Grammy winner decided to get back into the studio and create an album dedicated to the popular musical sensations and last month released the tracklist of the album with a hidden number 10 - which has now been revealed to be 'One of Us'.

Cher said: "I've always liked Abba and saw the original Mamma Mia musical on Broadway three times.

"After filming Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again, I was reminded again of what great and timeless songs they wrote and started thinking, 'Why not do an album of their music?'

"The songs were harder to sing than I imagined but I'm so happy with how the music came out. I'm really excited for people to hear it. It's a perfect time.”         

‘Dancing Queen’ was recorded and produced in London and Los Angeles with Cher’s long-term collaborator Mark Taylor, who previously produced her global smash ‘Believe’ which was #1 in more than 50 countries.      


The track listing for ‘Dancing Queen’, as previously announced on Cher's Twitter, is listed below:

1. Dancing Queen

2. Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)

3. The Name Of The Game

4. SOS

5. Waterloo

6. Mamma Mia

7. Chiquitita

8. Fernando

9. The Winner Takes It All

10. One Of Us

Listen to her version of 'Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)’ below: