Drag Race Down Under is officially coming to BBC iPlayer next month

Shantay, g’day!


Words: Will Stroude

In case you were worried that this weekend's finale of RuPaul's Drag Race season 13 is set to leave a Drag Race-shaped hole in your life, fear not: because Drag Race Down Under is officially coming to BBC iPlayer in the UK next month.

The first-ever edition of the franchise featuring queens from Australia and New Zealand is set to sashay onto screens on BBC Three via BBC iPlayer from 9am on Sunday 2 May.

Each 60-minute episode of the eight-part series will drop weekly as RuPaul and Michelle Visage look to crown Down under's First Drag Superstar.

The 10 fierce Aussie and Kiwi queens include: Anita Wigl’it, Art Simone, Coco Jumbo, Elektra Shock, Etcetera Etcetera, JoJo Zaho, Karen from Finance, Kita Mean, Maxi Shield and Scarlet Adams.

Joining Ru and Michelle on the judging panel will be Australian comedian Rhys Nicholson, who will bring his signature serving of wit and style to the most fabulous reality show in herstory.

Fenton Bailey and Randy Barbato, Executive Producers of World of Wonder say: "It’s a testament to RuPaul’s determination that we were finally able to film Drag Race Down Under.

"We are thrilled to be continuing our relationship with the BBC to bring the creative queens of Down Under to UK audiences."

Fiona Campbell, Controller, BBC Three says: "Following an incredible series of RuPaul’s Drag Race UK, BBC Three are delighted to be bringing another dose of Drag Race magic to UK audiences in the form of Drag Race Down Under

"It’s another great opportunity for us to work with World of Wonder and I hope that fans enjoy this first series from Australia and New Zealand."

Drag Race Down Under premieres on BBC Three via BBC iPlayer at 9am on Sunday 2 May.