Pet Shop Boys confirm new album for April 2016

They’ve teased die-hard fans for the last few weeks with a cryptic website and street poster campaign across London, splashed with the slogan, ‘We Are Super’. And keeping to their promise to reveal all at one o’clock this afternoon, the Pet Shop Boys have announced their new studio album Super is to be released on 1 April. Produced and mixed by Stuart Price in Los Angeles, the album features 12 new compositions by Chris Lowe and Neil Tennant, with 'The Pop Kids’ named as the leading single to kick things off. Tennant says the lyrics for ‘The Pop Kids’ were inspired by a “sort of a true story”. “It’s about a friend of mine who moved from Birmingham to go to Kings College in London to study History and he made friends with a girl there,” he says. “They both loved pop music and they used to go clubbing all the time and because of that they were known as the pop kids. I remember him telling me this and at one point I just wrote down the title ‘The Pop Kids’ because I thought it sounded like a good song title.” Super can be pre-ordered now from iTunes with the track ‘Inner Sanctum’ available as an immediate download. CD and vinyl formats are also available to pre-order. PSB The album track listing is as follows: Happiness The Pop Kids Twenty-something Groovy The dictator decides Pazzo! Inner sanctum Undertow Sad robot world Say it to me Burn Into thin air The duo are to also play a four-date residency entitled Inner Sanctum, at London’s Royal Opera House on July 20, 21, 22 and 23. Staged by designer Es Devlin and choreographer Lynne Page, these will be Pet Shop Boys only UK concerts this year. You can watch the launch video to the new album below: