Pet Shop Boys rock one of their top tracks in first look at Discovery: Live in Rio 1994 DVD

Excl: Watch the boys perform 'Left to my own devices' ahead of CD/DVD release including booklet of BTS tour photos and diary from Neil Tennent


Words: Jamie Tabberer; picture: Parlophone

The Pet Shop Boys are seen storming classic 80s single 'Left to my own devices' in this exclusive clip from their upcoming Discovery: Live in Rio 1994 DVD/CD release.

Released on 30 April, the package marks the first time fans can watch/hear the legendary show on either format.

Also included is a booklet of behind-the-scenes tour photos and a diary written by Neil Tennant.

"We’re more free-spirited on this tour."

Tennant's band mate Chris Lowe said at the time: “We’re more free-spirited on this tour. We party on down. It’s not a totally choreographed, staged and rehearsed show.

"I suppose it is more rock ‘n’ roll in its attitude. You get to express yourself. And to take your clothes off.”

Neil added: “In the past we were always removed from the audience by theatrical convention. This time we are us onstage.”

'Left to my own devices' reached number four in the UK singles chart when it was released in 1988.

The CD track listing also includes gems like 'Always on my mind', 'West End girls' and 'It's a sin' - the latter recently covered by Years and Years to celebrate frontman Olly Alexander's star turn in hit Channel 4 drama It's a Sin.

CD1 Track Listing

1 Tonight is forever (1.59)

2 I wouldn’t normally do this kind of thing (3.46)

3 Always on my mind (4.14)

4 Domino dancing (3.54)

5 To speak is a sin (4.59)

6 One in a million/Mr Vain (4.46)

7 Paninaro (4.27)

8 Rent (3.10)

9 Suburbia (3.11)

10 King’s Cross (5.00)

11 So hard (4.03)

CD2 Track Listing

1 Left to my own devices/Rhythm of the night (5.59)

2 Absolutely Fabulous (3.51)

3 Liberation (4.09)

4 West End girls (4.38)

5 Can you forgive her? (3.56)

6 Girls and boys (4.55)

7 It’s a sin/I will survive (6.48)

8 Go West (5.11)

9 Go West (Reprise) (4.46)

10 Being boring (5.24)

Discovery: Live in Rio 1994 is released 30 April and is available to pre-order now

Read the Attitude April Style issue, out now to download and to order globally.

Subscribe in print and get your first three issues for just £1 each, or digitally for just over £1.50 per issue.