news

Vogue Italia celebrates same-sex love with gay kiss on September issue cover

2017-08-30
Vogue Italia has marked the most important month in fashion with a bold celebration of same-sex love. The iconic fashion bible has featured a gay kiss on the cover its September issue - the first time the Italian version of the magazine has done so. What's more, the finely-chiselled models featured in the shot, Edoardo Velicskov and Pablo Rousson, are a couple in real life too. The striking image, unveiled by new editor-in-chief Emanuele Farneti,  is one of three available covers for Vogue Italia's September issue. Shot by Mert Alas and Marcus Piggott, the other two see female supermodels Lily Aldridge and Vittoria Ceretti lock lips, while the features a kiss between female model Maria Carla Boscono and male model Federico Spinas.

#Repost @mertalas ・・・ B A C I O 💋 kiss is kiss 💥september issue of new Italian vogue with my favorites @lilyaldridge and @vittoceretti ⭐️Editor in chief @efarneti Creative director @gb65 💥#thenewvogueitalia #itsallaboutitaly #mertandmarcus @vogueitalia Hair @cyndiaharvey makeup @isamayaffrench sets @andrea_stanley_

A post shared by Emanuele Farneti (@efarneti) on

#thenewvogueitalia #itsallaboutitaly Era solo un bacio 💋 by #mertandmarcus @mertalas @macpiggott styled by @alastairmckimm Editor in chief @efarneti Creative director @gb65 Full Cover + Fold-Out Credits Fashion: @prada #prada #MariacarlaBoscono @ Elite Milano @iosonomariacarlaboscono Federico Spinas @ I Love Management Lily Aldridge @ Img Models @lilyaldridge Vittoria Ceretti @ Elite Milano @vittoceretti Pablo Rousson e Edoardo Velickskov Casting Piergiorgio Del Moro @pg_dmcasting and Samuel Ellis Scheinman @samuel_ellis Hair Cyndia Harvey @ Streeters @cyndiaharvey Make-up Isamaya Ffrench @ Streeters @isamayaffrench Manicure Mary Soul using Chanel Le Vernis Set design Andrea Stanley @ Streeters On set Across Media Productions

A post shared by Emanuele Farneti (@efarneti) on

The September issue of Vogue is out now.

#thenewvogueitalia 🔥#itsallaboutitaly 🇮🇹 Bacio! 💋 by @mertalas and @macpiggott Editor in chief @efarneti Creative director @gb65 video directed by Mert Alas and Marcus Piggott shot and edited by @cpxnyc

A post shared by Vogue Italia (@vogueitalia) on

More stories: The best girl group singles of the last 25 years ranked Will & Grace: Major guest star set to return for revival