entertainment

Will Young strips naked in the hot new video for comeback single 'All The Songs' - WATCH

Mr. Young just kicked off the campaign for upcoming album 'Lexicon' in serious style.

2019-03-22

It was only in May last year that Will Young admitted he didn't know if he'd ever make music again. Well,l thank God(ney) he changed his mind, because he's kicked off the campaign for his upcoming eighth studio album with some of his strongest material in years.

After revealing just three days ago that a new record was on the way, the gay pop trailblazer burst back on to the scene on Friday (22 March) with the surprise release of a brand new single, video, album details and UK tour dates.

Not a bad morning's work, to be honest. And the even better news is that new single 'All The Songs' - Will's first new material in three years - is fantastic.

A melancholy slice of electo-pop heartbreak that recalls the understated brilliance of 2011's 'Jealousy', the track is accompanied by an arresting new video which sees Will dress as a sailor, bilker, farmer and businessman before promptly letting rip, stripping off and flashing his bum.

After a difficult couple of years, in which Will has been open about his struggles with anxiety and post-traumatic stress disorder, the former Pop Idol winner, 40, looks like he's loving every second of his return to the spotlight.

'All The Songs' is the first track to be lifted from Will's upcoming album Lexicon, which is set to be released on June 14. It comes four years after Will's last record, 100% Proof, became his fourth record to hit the top spot on the UK Albums Chart.

Will, who revealed last year that was forced to re-record his 2003 hit 'Leave Right Now' by industry bosses because he "sounded gay", is also set to embark on a 21-date UK tour in October, meaning we'll have the chance to hear all his material, old and new, in all its 'gay-voiced' glory. Hear hear.

Tickets are set to go on sale next Friday 29 March, and you can see the full list of dates below:

Tue 1 Oct – Princess Theatre, Torquay
Wed 2 Oct – Plymouth Pavillion
Fri 4 Oct – Birmingham Symphony Hall
Sat 5 Oct – Ipswich Regent Theatre
Sun 6 Oct – Southend Cliffs Pavillion
Tue 8 Oct – St Davids Hall, Cardiff
Wed 9 Oct – Brighton Centre
Fri 11 Oct – Eventim Apollo
Sat 12 Oct – Pavilion Theatre,
Mon 14 Oct – Oxford New Theatre
Tue 15 Oct – Guildhall. Portsmouth
Thu 17 Oct – Liverpool Philharmonic
Fri 18 Oct – Manchester Apollo
Sun 20 Oct – York Barbican
Mon 21 Oct – Bonus Arena, Hull
Tue 22 Oct – Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham
Thu 24 Oct – Sheffield City Hall
Fri 25 Oct – SEC Armadillo, Glasgow
Sat 26 Oct – Usher Hall, Edinburgh
Mon 28 Oct – Newcastle City Hall
Tue 29 Oct – Blackpool Opera House